Senate confirms three CBN nominees, rejects one


The Senate on Thursday confirmed three nominees for appointment as members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

Those confirmed for the appointment are Prof. Adeola Adenikinju, Dr Aliyu Sanusi and Dr Robert Asogwa.

The confirmation followed the consideration and adoption of the screening report of Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions.

The committee was mandated on March 14 to screen the nominees following President Muhammadu Buhari’s request that they be confirmed.

Presenting the report during plenary, Chairman of the Committee, Sen. Rafiu Adebayo, said that it recommended the rejection of one of the nominees, Dr Asheikh Maidugu.

According to Adebayo, the committee was dissatisfied with his response to the dependence required for each member of the MPC.

“The committee is concerned that a regular civil servant laden with bureaucracy may not be independent in his judgment on each crucial decisions of the MPC that affect directly the whole economy.’’

Also, the senate confirmed the nomination of Mrs Aisha Ahmad and Mr Edward Adamu for appointment as deputy governors of the CBN.

Leave a reply