Buhari appoints new CBN Deputy Gov, 4 monetary policy Committee members


President Muhammadu Buhari has presented Mrs Aishah Ahmad to the Senate for confirmation as Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The President’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, announced this in a statement on Thursday in Abuja.

According to the presidential aide, Ahmad is to replace a former Deputy Governor, who retired early this year.

He said the nomination of Ahmad was in accordance with the provisions of Section 8(1) (2) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (Establishment) Act 2007.

“President Buhari urged the Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki, to consider the expeditious confirmation of Mrs Ahmad, who would then resume work immediately,’’ the statement added.

In the same vein, the President has written the Senate, seeking the confirmation of appointment of members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the CBN.

Adesina said the new members would replace four others whose tenure would expire at the end of the year.

“The nominees are: Prof. Adeola Adenikinju, Dr Aliyu Sanusi, Dr Robert Asogwa and Dr Asheikh Maidugu.’’

The new members of the committee are to resume duty in January 2018 after Senate’s clearance

Leave a reply